Top 100 Travel Websites Reranked by Twitter Followers

by Scott on June 8, 2010

This post has taken a bit longer then I had expected. Every couple weeks I take a look at the Top 100 Travel Blog Sites just to see how where everyone ranks. After reading it this week I thought humm, I wonder what this list would look like if you reranked it by Twitter followers?

If you have wondered that too – here you go!

Also, feel free to add follow me @headingthatway, I may not be on this list yet, but I will be before the end of the year!

20 sites did not have twitter links in their homepage or their about me page that I could find.

Top 100 rank Website Twitter name Followers
1 1 Everything Everywhere everywheretrip 95986
7 2 Almost Fearless almostfearless 45113
6 3 Peter Greenberg Worldwide petersgreenberg 30276
68 4 Business Travel Guru benhoffman 28542
25 5 Cranky Flier crankyflier 27202
52 6 Solo Travelers 3 soultravelers3 25948
29 7 Rick Seaney rickseaney 23152
5 8 Chris Elliot elliottdotorg 15023
2 9 Danny Choo dannychoo 14422
67 10 http://www.thetraveltart.com/ thetraveltart 11954
47 11 Location Independent Living leawoodward 10978
4 12 Nomadic Matt’s Travel Site nomadicmatt 9430
15 13 Europe Up Close europeupclose 9394
35 14 http://www.travel-rants.com/ travelrants 8827
62 15 Happy Hotelier happyhotelier 7432
42 16 Canada Adventure Couple theplanetd 7263
69 17 The Professional Hobo hobonora 6896
37 18 Hawaii Vacation Blog alohabruce 6267
18 19 Indie Travel Podcast indietravel 6175
10 20 WhyGo Italy italylogue 5584
57 21 Solo Traveler solotraveler 5149
60 22 Velvetescape velvetescape 4879
17 23 Delicious Baby deliciousbaby 4606
9 24 Travel with a Purpose wanderluster 4597
58 25 My Itchy Travel Feet donnahull 4529
33 26 Go Backpacking rtwdvave 4322
63 27 Life Cruiser lifecruiser 4310
54 28 The Brooklyn Nomad brooklynnomad 4111
38 29 The Traveling Mamas travelingmamas 4107
74 30 Theme Park Mom themeparkmom 4016
8 31 Mommy Poppins mommypoppins 3982
79 32 501 Places 501places 3965
53 33 Mom Most Traveled mommosttraveled 3827
49 34 Uncornerd Market umarket 3640
36 35 Go Green Travel Green gogreentraveler 3254
26 36 Wild Junket wildjunket 3236
11 37 Off Track Planet offtrackplanet 3007
23 38 My Melange mymelange 2930
30 39 Europe A La Cart karenbryan 2680
31 40 The Amateur Traveler amateurtraveler 2667
92 41 Travelwires.com travelwires 2549
46 42 Twenty-Something Travel 20stravel 2379
83 43 My Serveral Worlds globetrtteri 2202
43 44 Go Visit Hawaii sheilabeal 2184
56 45 Kaleidoscopic Wandering joanna_haugen 2157
14 46 The Vacation Gals thevacationgals 2030
44 47 Caio Bambino ciaobambine 2017
77 48 Two Backpackers twobackpackers 1982
21 49 Hole in the Donut holeinthedonut 1924
88 50 Otts World ottsworld 1914
19 51 foXnoMad foxnomad 1911
45 52 Travel Blissful travelblissful 1793
64 53 Travels of Adam travelsofadam 1762
71 54 Travel Wonders of the World travelwonders 1727
12 55 Upgrade: Travel Better upgradetravel 1568
51 56 Escape Artists italianescapes 1561
55 57 Around the World “L” worldlillie 1557
65 58 Nomadic Chick nomadicchick 1536
86 59 Johnny Vagabond johnnyvagabond 1536
76 60 Brooke vs the World brookeschoenman 1295
50 61 Italofile italofileblog 1247
95 62 Offbeat Travel offbeattravel 1141
97 63 Suzy Guese suzyguese 1126
48 64 KY Speaks kyspeaks 1094
82 65 The Aussie Nomad theaussienomad 1091
59 66 Nerdy Nomad travoholic 1086
90 67 Technomdia technomadia 1073
3 68 Fluent in 3 Months irishpolyglot 1071
80 69 The Real Banff Real_banff 1036
99 70 Notes from the Road erikgauger 882
98 71 Traveling Savage travelingsavage 842
85 72 Two Go Round-The-World twortw 811
27 73 Inside the Travel Lab insidetravellab 792
93 74 Travellious travellious 778
91 75 Hop and Jaunt hopandjaunt 693
66 76 Heather on Her Travels heathercowper 627
87 77 Never Ending Voyage nevendingvoyage 598
73 78 Travelvice travelvice 279
78 79 John’s Adventures Johnconners 129
28 80 Calvin’s Hub calvinshub 54

{ 14 comments… read them below or add one }

Adam June 8, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Wow! Way to take initiative – such a good idea. And interesting results, too!

Chris Cavs (Part Time Vagabond) June 8, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Well, you missed mine, and according to this list, Part Time Vagabond should be up there!

However, what a great list! more great travelers for me to follow.

Chris Cavs (Part Time Vagabond) June 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm

oh…hehe, my mistake. You took the list from Travel Blog Sites. Well, I’d love for more people to know about Part Time Vagabond!

Scott June 8, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Thanks Adam. I was surprised at how many didn’t have any link at all.

Scott June 8, 2010 at 9:50 pm

No problem Chris, I figured that the Travel Blog Site list would be a good place to start.

Leigh June 8, 2010 at 10:57 pm

I’m not on there either – HikeBikeTravel; I provide free travel guides too and I’m not far off 2000 followers.

Also don’t see Journey Women with over 7300 and Candice with Candice does the World with over 1000. Otherwise a terrific list.

Scott June 9, 2010 at 5:50 am

Leigh, I would send your information to Travelpod, they have a page that explains everything here. They publish a list weekly of the top independent travel blogs.

Travel with Teens and Tweens June 10, 2010 at 6:03 pm

This is interesting – we have over 750 twitter followers – more than some on your list but somehow didn’t make it – hope we will next time! Thanks for doing this

Scott June 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm

This list is merely a list of the twitter followers from the TravelBlogSites weekly list. Looking at your numbers you would be ranked 39th, but you need to submit your site to their list.

Chris - The Aussie Nomad June 16, 2010 at 3:11 am

That’s a different way to look at the top 100 list that’s for sure. I don’t even want to know how long that must have taken you :) Nicely done.

Melanie June 21, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Woohoo! I’m #50 on the Top 100 list. I had no idea. Number 61 on your list isn’t shabby either. Thanks for doing this. I’ll keep at it! :-)

Gail Gillespie June 21, 2010 at 11:04 pm

I am a bit disappointed you haven’t gone to travel websites as well as blogs. I would like to see the title changed to blogs if your list is just blogs. My site ( I have two travel sites) Fascinating Travel Destinations was nominated for the blog list but it is not a blog, despite a lot of the tips and information being based on my personal experiences……it is an information website, so I didn’t send further details.I am not sure I would consider how many followers a good indication of the blog or website.It depends on the policy the person has re getting followers.Some people get their followers just to have big numbers. Others prefer to follow and be followed by those of real interest.

But it is an interesting and useful list all the same….you have clearly put a lot of work into it. Many Thanks

CanCan June 23, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Awesome, I’m going to follow the “new to me” ones.

Abi from Inside the Travel Lab July 11, 2010 at 8:22 am

Hi Scott – I’m a bit late to the party on this one but thank you for putting this list together (it must have taken AGES!)
Thrilled to see my blog on both lists – and it’s good to find out about so many other ones (including yours 😉 )
See you on Twitter – Abi

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: